top of page
Taman_Negara_-_floating_grocery_store_ca

 A PEBBLE FOR YOUR THOUGHTS

My Fulbright Year in Malaysia

Home: Welcome

"We must dare to think 'unthinkable' thoughts. We must learn to explore all the options and possibilities that confront us in a complex and rapidly changing world."

Senator J. William Fulbright

Home: Quote
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Peter Hansen

Yes, Dad! I am finally moving out!


Let's play Two Truths and a Lie

  1. I hate mushroom soup

  2. I got a Fulbright Scholarship to Malaysia

  3. I will be blogging about my experiences

I actually do like mushroom soup, which is remarkable because of how much I dislike mushrooms. Thus, as surprising as it seems, I am a Fulbright Scholar! And what's even more surprising is that I will be blogging about it!


I plan on keeping my blogs short and sweet for two reasons: 1) Less work for me. 2) I probably only have your attention for a total of 4 minutes, unless you really love me, then it's 6.


I received the email in the training room while getting my knee (classic) looked at and have been counting down the days ever since. However, as January 1st beckons, I am realizing how unprepared I am for this journey, but not in the way you might think. I am prepared to drive on the left side of the road. I am ready to take on the constant power outages, Wi-Fi cuts, three pronged outlets, and jet lag. I can handle the lack of PS4 and Ben & Jerry's pints. This won't be the first time I have had to wake up early to catch the 4th quarter of a Rockets game. Howbeit, this will be the very first time I am moving away from home. For which, I am woefully underprepared.


I have had the extreme privilege of being part of a family that has had the opportunity to voluntarily move to multiple countries. I lived in 6 houses in 3 continents by the time I was 18, but never once have I moved away from home. The one constant through all the change has been my family. Even when I went off to college, Eirik was there waiting for me. When I leave for Malaysia, I am doing so without the people that I love. Without my home. So, Yes, Dad! I am finally moving out!


I have actually been to Malaysia before, briefly, as a tourist. My memories range from the Petronas Towers, to the beaches of Langkawi, and this commercial (Delhi circa 2011 people will understand):






I don't know much about my English Teaching Assistantship (ETA), but I do know that I'll be teaching in a secondary school somewhere in Malaysia that isn't KL and that I will have a car (more to come on this). Hopefully, this time around, I won't be seen as a tourist, which is a lot easier said than done...


I am leaving all you 4-minuters with this photo of me the last time I was in Malaysia.


------------------------------4 min------------------------------


Yay! You managed to read past 4 minutes! You really do love me! I truly appreciate your love and support. You are the reason why I am a Fulbright Scholar. You are the reason why I am about to undertake this life-changing journey. So cheers! Cheers to the people that have called me Baby H or Pebble. Cheers to the people that have lent me their goggles knowing full well that I wouldn't return them. Cheers to the people that have cooked dinner for me. To the people that helped me pass high school chemistry. To the people that taught me how to ride a bike. To the people that have hung out with me on my (our) balcony. To PPSD. Cheers to my past educators who inspired me to apply for a Fulbright in the first place. Cheers to my family. Cheers to my home.

------------------------------6 min------------------------------


6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page